Thread: March 2015 Geocacher Profile

March 2015 Geocacher Profile

The Membership Relations Committee is happy to showcase some ArkGeo Geocachers through the "Geocacher Profile". The committee thought Chuck Schwab aka floaten should be the next cacher to be in the spotlight.

What is your geocaching name? floaten

How did you choose your handle? I used to skydive and created an email address using floaten many years ago, as in “floaten through the air”. I essentially gave up one hobby for another and the name transferred.

How long have you been geocaching? I found my first geocache in April 2005.

How did you find your first Geocache, and which one was it?
    I was an ROTC instructor at Eastern Illinois University and a biology professor (Flowerdoc) approached me and asked if I had a GPS. I was an army infantryman, so of course I did. The campus had two geocaches placed by the doc, so he asked if I had time to take a break and wanted to show me something. The rest is history!

Who usually goes with you when you go caching? During the week I cache alone. We cache as a family during the weekends which typically revolves around going somewhere in the state we have not visited. I have gone on several outings with KSDS, Razz007, Butch724, and KNKinCabot.

How long will you work on puzzle caches before you give up? I don’t give up. I love puzzles. I will work a puzzle until I solve it or I’ll ask for help. Woodwalker is to blame for me puzzle madness. I used to avoid puzzles until I moved to Arkansas where I spotted all the puzzles in Jacksonville.

What town/areas have you most enjoyed caching in?
    The areas I enjoy the most are places like Pinnacle, Sugarloaf Mountain, and Petit Jean. I prefer to wander through the woods.