Thread: Earth caches?

acrossvet Guest

Earth caches?

I am fairly new to geocaching, I am trying to log an earth cache that requires a picture to be posted to get credit for the cache. I have no idea how to do that. I do most of my logging on my iPad, which is also where most of my pictures( including the one I would use) are. Does anyone have directions on how to get that picture onto geocaching.com? I would greatly appreciate any help. Remember to dumb the directions down as much as possible! Thanks.

Plug your Ipad into your computer

Once you've done that, your Ipad should appear in your "My Computer" area as an additional hard drive. You can then upload photos to your log by visiting geocaching.com on your computer and hitting the "Upload Image" button on your log editing screen. At that point, just browse to your Ipad and select your image.

It's one of those things that you'll never have a problem with once you've done it one time.

From the Groundspeak guidelines for Earthcaches:

5.2. EarthCache Logging Requirements

An EarthCache must include logging tasks which relate to - and help teach - the Earth Science lesson. The logging tasks should be stringent enough that they can only be completed by cachers who have visited the EarthCache site. Requiring a photograph of the cacher as proof that they were at the EarthCache site is not permitted. However, photographic tasks will be considered if they relate specifically to the Earth Science lesson.

I don't know if photos were allowed in older earthcache listings, but they aren't allowed any more. Chuck Walla would be the one to know if older earthcaches were allowed to retain the photo requirement or if the listings had to be changed.

Quote Originally Posted by TnT View Post
    From the Groundspeak guidelines for Earthcaches:

5.2. EarthCache Logging Requirements