Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: gsak and all caches in AR by just a handful of PQ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    581

    gsak and all caches in AR by just a handful of PQ?

    I have been told this is easily done and I have close to about 4k caches 3500 active but I know there are more in the state because I don't have the extreme ends of the state on my queries. Can one of you give me the zips or caches or whatever it is you use to generate the max 1000 caches per query to be able to load it all up in Gsak. I have played with it long enough and I am sure several of you have the answer that I have been trying to find.

    Thanks!


    Crow Mountain Crafts FB Page

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    364
    I would LOVE to know this, as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NW Arkansas
    Posts
    152
    The easiest - and possibly the only way to do it is to query by placed date. Currently, it takes 11 PQs to get all of AR, and its soon to be 12.

    To start with, try these dates for your PQs. The right hand column shows how many caches that PQ has. The dates will have to be adjusted as time goes on, but this too is easy using the macro "PlacePQ".

    Hope this helps.

    001 6/27/2000 7/28/2006 988
    002 7/29/2006 11/12/2007 987
    003 11/13/2007 7/23/2008 984
    004 7/24/2008 3/9/2009 976
    005 3/10/2009 8/4/2009 980
    006 8/5/2009 12/1/2009 989
    007 12/2/2009 3/31/2010 989
    008 4/1/2010 6/21/2010 986
    009 6/22/2010 10/5/2010 984
    010 10/6/2010 3/2/2011 986
    011 3/3/2011 Maximum date 783

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Monroe, LA
    Posts
    8
    The PlacePQ macro makes the date sort on the pocket query very easy. What I do when running the pocket query is not to check any of the filter boxes since the GSAK search/filter is much more flexible and easier to use. One of my favorite GSAK search options I really use a lot is the Arc/Poly sort feature when I have the entire state geocache database. That way I can run my own cache route and also do a specific geographic area, like Hot Springs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    live in eastern Oklahoma
    Posts
    333
    I run my pq's in the way that TNT stated. I have some with only 500 because that was the max when I ran them. But once in gsak it doesn't matter I don't think.
    I think I will use his dates and go back and re run mine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    47
    I think TNT is the man! I am still learning new tricks about GSAK. I guess we need just a GSAK thread..hum I will start one if I can't find a GSAK thread. Coon&Bud
    Coon&Bud

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Crow Mountain, Russellville Area
    Posts
    284
    Pardon my ignorance, but how is this useful? I used GSAK in the past, then used DeLorme's proprietary software, but now that they've introduced a new firmware update that allows one to drag and drop .gpx files into the GPSr like a flash drive, I'm going back to GSAK for data manipulation prior to the transfer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    581
    Captain, for me it's a way I can load as many caches as I want into the Magellan GC without having to worry about PQ size, I can make my own route, or just do a circumference around a GC and have my caches loaded easily. Also, it's as simple as just "sending" the waypoints that show up in my filter to the Magellan GC. A bonus is you get all the latest info into a easy to read format if you like to take your laptop with you. Also, I am looking into getting some type of of usb gpsr for a old laptop so I gsak can show me caches close to my current location and I can export the waypoint data needed to load into whatever mapping program I decided to run on the laptop. I am looking hard at a earthmate lt20 with the delorme streets or whatever.

    There are some fun macro's that can do statistics on your finds/hides/other people, etc.

    TnT Are those dates still valid to use? How much overlap do you have, meaning do you have several of the same caches in each pq?


    Crow Mountain Crafts FB Page

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NW Arkansas
    Posts
    152
    If you use the "PlacePQ" macro, there will be no overlap.

    Currently, the dates would be close to this:

    001 6/27/2000 8/23/2006 989
    002 8/24/2006 12/29/2007 985
    003 12/30/2007 8/21/2008 990
    004 8/22/2008 3/28/2009 984
    005 3/29/2009 8/22/2009 989
    006 8/23/2009 1/6/2010 988
    007 1/7/2010 4/13/2010 982
    008 4/14/2010 7/27/2010 983
    009 7/28/2010 11/9/2010 981
    010 11/10/2010 3/25/2011 990
    011 3/26/2011 8/6/2011 989
    012 8/7/2011 Maximum date 59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •