Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Missing smiley faces on map in Geocaching.com website

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Little Rock/Ferndale area
    Posts
    368

    Missing smiley faces on map in Geocaching.com website

    Just out of curiosity, is anyone else not seeing their finds (as smiley faces) when you go to the maps in Geocaching.com?? Went to look at what I needed to find to finish up a section of caches I was going to hit this weekend and everything is showing up as not found. Took me a while to look for the new ones I haven't gotten, plus a few others I was planning on hitting. Just wondering!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Conway, Arkansas
    Posts
    762
    Same thing here. Lots of little boxes and no smileys, even on caches I know I've found already...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Paris, Arkansas
    Posts
    901
    I noticed it yesterday. My map says the following:



    " Personalization of the map is currently unavailable. Please try the Geocaching Beta Maps in the meanwhile!"

    Not sure what is up with it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    live in eastern Oklahoma
    Posts
    333
    I was just fixing to post the same question myself. Mine has been this way for several days and it is very hard to work with. I just posted on the geocaching.com forum to see if I could find out anything from those cachers. It sure makes it hard to work with the map when you are looking to see where you left off on a run or are looking for a new cache to see where it is located.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    917
    Blame Chuck Walla. It's all his fault.
    "Wildness is a necessity." -- John Muir

    "When you go to hide a geocache, think of the reason you are bringing people to that spot. If the only reason is for the geocache, then find a better spot." briansnat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    live in eastern Oklahoma
    Posts
    333
    That is funny . Everything is always the reviewers fault. I did read that they had turned it off because their system was bogging down and running really slow. I guess they are working on a fix. I don't like the other mapping system they have.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fort Smith
    Posts
    325
    On the Groundspeak forums, I came across a few threads about the home office turning off certain customizations during times of peak access 9spring weekends for example)...this is probably what's going on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    915
    Quote Originally Posted by paris1time View Post
    Please try the Geocaching Beta Maps in the meanwhile!"
    This looks like their way of forcing us to use the new maps. I read somewhere that the main reason for this change was that the old maps take up lots of space and resources to run. The new maps are supposed to speed everything up. It looks like they are working toward making the new maps more manageable. I am always up for change.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Arlington, TX, across from Six Flags!
    Posts
    172
    I heard that CW disabled it so we would go out and refind caches and give him a break from publishing new ones all the time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    475
    i've played with the new maps-they seem really nice! my favorite feature so far, is the option that lets you zoom out and see all the caches in the region without that pesky 1000 cache limit.

    Morgan
    "drmo913"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •