Thread: New to Jonesboro/Advice for caching with kids?

TeamCrow Guest

New to Jonesboro/Advice for caching with kids?

Hello everyone! I'm relatively new to caching. I was first introduced about a year ago and was instantly hooked, but haven't really had as much time as I would like to go geocaching. My husband and I have only found about 80 caches, mostly in the Jonesboro area. Now that the weather is starting to get nice, we've started hiking again and I have started getting addicted to geocaching again!

I'm taking my nephews (ages 4 and 7) camping over spring break to Cossatot River. I've never taken kids geocaching, and would like to make it fun and educational for them. I know that they both have pretty short attention spans though, and I'm not really sure how to keep them interested.

Does anyone have any advice on taking kids geocaching? Also, any tips on Cossatot River area geocaches? I'd like to take them hiking and pick a trail with several geocaches on it if there is one in the area. I've never been to that area, so I'm kind of lost as to where would be the best places to take them.

Thanks for any advice! I'm relatively inexperienced with keeping kids entertained so this is going to be an adventure for me! =)

DaTexanBoy Guest
    First off a big hello. I have two daughters (6 and 3), that I take all the time. I havent been in it very long myself. I would specifically sit down and look for caches that were a regular size and go look for just those caches. Normally those are going to be a little easier to find and a quick gratification for the kids. What I normally did, is once I spotted it, I would tell them I found it and kind of guide them to the general area of where I see the cache. My 3 year old has been with me so much now that I can actually take her to find micros and she enjoys those now as well.