Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Garmin 60CSX

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Conway, AR
    Posts
    1,392
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwrider1
    Sometimes when I turn on my 60csx the maps do not load and I have to restart it a couple of times. I thought maybe the sd card was not seated but that does not seem to be the problem. Any Ideas?
    It is most likely a problem with the SD card. Have you tried reformatting it?

    To narrow the problem down a bit, try a different SD card. Also, you could try your SD card on a different GPSr and see if the maps load on that one.

    Wayne
    I get my directions from above.
    View my profile

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Prescott
    Posts
    21
    It seems as if the card came unseated. Just took it out and back again seemed to make it work. Thanks

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Conway, Arkansas
    Posts
    762
    I recently bought a 2 gig card for my 60csx and I noticed it was really hard to seat into place. It didn't snap into place or anything. Oh well, its working and I shouldn't have to take it out again.

    Is there anything else you can store on the card other than maps?

  4. #14
    I just recently purchase the 60csx with US topo 2008 from REI.com. $348 total including shipping. Can anybody tell me what is the difference between topo & city navigator? The topo has all the city streets. Do you get turn by turn navigating with city navigator? I've tried using auto routing a couple of times, but it just highlights the interstate. You're on your own getting to the interstate.

    Also, has anybody tried the 60csx poi macro from the GSAK forums?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Conway, Arkansas
    Posts
    762
    I don't have topo but yes, you do get turn by turn routing with the city navigator.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Clarksville, AR
    Posts
    271
    While we are on the subject of the 60csx, does anyone know how to NOT show all the services on the map page of the gps screen?? When in a larger city you cant see the caches for all the service stations and stores. There must be a way

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    920
    Quote Originally Posted by DEEZER
    I just recently purchase the 60csx with US topo 2008 from REI.com. $348 total including shipping. Can anybody tell me what is the difference between topo & city navigator? The topo has all the city streets. Do you get turn by turn navigating with city navigator? I've tried using auto routing a couple of times, but it just highlights the interstate. You're on your own getting to the interstate.

    Also, has anybody tried the 60csx poi macro from the GSAK forums?
    I use both Topo and City Navigator with my eTrex Vista Cx. I would assume that it works the same as for the 60csx. Although Topo has many streets and roads, it is not as detailed. Also, you cannot locate specific addresses with Topo, which you can do with City Navigator. And that comes in very handy sometimes!

    If you use autorouting with Topo maps loaded, you will get weird results, as it will try to take you on major roads the whole way. For example, when I was driving to the Conway County Event on Saturday morning, although I knew the way, I decided to see what auto-routing with Topo would come up with. Well, coming from Russellville, it wanted me to continue on I-40 to Conway, take Rt. 65 north, and then turn west somewhere along the way! Definitely not the short route! However, if I use City Navigator, auto-routing works great and the displayed route seems logical.

    For the maps, I use 2 micro SD cards: one 2 GB card with City Navigator maps for the entire lower 48 states on it and one 64 MB card with topo maps for all of Arkansas, most of Mississippi, and the northern half of Louisiana. If I travel somewhere else, I will reprogram the 64 MB card with maps of the area I am going to. Then I swap cards depending on what I'm doing and what the area is like. I prefer the topo maps for geocaching, but I will use the City Navigator maps if I'm in an unfamiliar area.

    Old River Runner
    "Wildness is a necessity." -- John Muir

    "When you go to hide a geocache, think of the reason you are bringing people to that spot. If the only reason is for the geocache, then find a better spot." briansnat

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Center Ridge
    Posts
    75
    While we are on the subject of the 60csx, does anyone know how to NOT show all the services on the map page of the gps screen?? When in a larger city you cant see the caches for all the service stations and stores. There must be a way
    I can't say I have ever had that problem. Seems like there may be a setting that needs to be turned off. Someone with more brains can probably tell you more specific.
    Thanks
    Brian

    There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    cabot,AR
    Posts
    147
    i'm a new 60CSX user, but you mighy try this:
    MAIN menu> Setup>Map>Detail
    i have mine set to 'normal'.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Clarksville, AR
    Posts
    271
    OK I will try that, it is very frustrating in a larger city, the screen is all cluttered with stores and service stations..
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •