Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Caching off a bike.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hot Springs Village
    Posts
    621

    Caching off a bike.

    I just got a moutain bike and have started doing some caching with it. I went out to two rivers park and picked up a few caches there while on the bike. I is a lot of fun and great excercise!! Does anyone else cache this way? If so, what handlebar mount would you suggest for my GPSr?

    I have a Garmin eTrex Legend.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Little Rock
    Posts
    36
    I have biked a bit with my GPS (Garmin eTrex Vista Cx) - I purchased one of the bike mounts made by Garmin and it work very well (purchased from amazon.com). I not only use it for geocaching but to record my regular ride routes, etc.

    Mine GPSr came with a bike mount adapter, so I just had to buy the handlebar mount portion. Looking at Garmin's site yours did not come with a bike mount adapter.

    Handlebar mount kit (includes new battery cover with adapter):
    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=744

    Small diameter Handlebar mount only (without battery cover and adapter):
    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=1057

    Large diameter Handlebar mount only (without battery cover and adapter):
    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=1056

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkadelphia
    Posts
    144
    go RAM mounts for all your speciality GPS mounts, they are great!!

    www.ram-mount.com



    Cool!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    915
    I use the Garmin handlebar mount also, for my eTrex Vista C. Works great! I highly recommend it. I bought mine through REI. -- ORR
    "Wildness is a necessity." -- John Muir

    "When you go to hide a geocache, think of the reason you are bringing people to that spot. If the only reason is for the geocache, then find a better spot." briansnat

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hot Springs Village
    Posts
    621
    I've been biking on the NLR side of the river trail and at Two Rivers to do some caching and have just been using the lanyard for my GPSr. It works ok but I have to keep stopping to reacuire the signal. The unit seems to go a little crazy once I get to the location of the cache. After a a few minuets it settles down and I'm able to find the cache (most of the time). Has anyone else had this problem while biking?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Russellville
    Posts
    915
    Using the Garmin handlebar mount with my GPSr, I have not experienced that problem. Even when not geocaching, I use the GPSr to show me speed and distance, and it always provides a good reading. The mount keeps the unit in the correct position so that its antenna can pick up the optimum signal for your location. -- ORR
    "Wildness is a necessity." -- John Muir

    "When you go to hide a geocache, think of the reason you are bringing people to that spot. If the only reason is for the geocache, then find a better spot." briansnat

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Morrilton
    Posts
    327
    If you decide to "engineer" something don't forget about velcro. Stick it on your bike while pedaling and pull it off while searching. It would be really handy. I've got mine velcroed to my camera bag.


    Take time to smell the roses and love the grandkids.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    846
    I got mine localy at Sportsmans Warehouse it was like $10 I think and its for the yellow etrex wich I use for a spare. I love it.
    If your not living life on the edge your taking up too much space!!!!!!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hot Springs Village
    Posts
    621
    Thanks for all the info. When I get it all togather I'll let ya know how it works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •