PDA

View Full Version : .



mountainborn
01-04-2006, 10:32 AM
..

mountainborn
01-04-2006, 01:55 PM
..

mountainborn
01-04-2006, 01:58 PM
..

mountainborn
01-04-2006, 02:00 PM
..

BACKPACKNJACK
01-04-2006, 03:19 PM
I donít know what program you are using so let me assume it is not GSAK. If it *is* GSAK then just stare at this little dot>>> . <<< until you have completely forgotten I just told you something you already knew. :oops:

Sorry to disappoint but I just canít badmouth your Magellan.
I have an HP Pavilion laptop, a HP iPAQ, a Magellan Meridian Gold, a Garmin GPS12, and 2 desktops that all....all....I say all use GSAK. One program that will work on, import from, export to, any of the above. It is even free if you donít mind a nag screen, if you pay for it you can use the one license for all your copies on all your electronics.
I just download the GPXzip to my desktop and drag it over to GSAK. Loading it to the SD card on my iPAQ was a chore until I found out I didnít need all those programs like Spinner, Plucker, etc. and just loaded it as HTML (again using GSAK) and let IE open it. To go paperless using the files on my iPAQ I just click on Explorer and it opens up to the last file I was using, usually the Master Index so there is no program loaded (anymore)
onto my iPAQ. I donít have a palm but have been teased that it is even easier to use then the iPAQ.
To load my GPSrs I just select either Mag. or Gar.

I too was young once and reveled in those things that were complicated and a challenge to the mind but now I revel in those things that play well with others and just let me daydream (like GSAK :wink: )

The short of it, or maybe just the way I see it, is Magellan good, Garmin good, Palm good, iPAQ good, GSAK play well with others so make Geocaching good.

mountainborn
01-04-2006, 04:16 PM
..

mountainborn
01-05-2006, 05:19 AM
..

Gaddiel
01-05-2006, 08:57 AM
My brother-in-law, RockHound, had a very similar experience with his Magellan SporTrak Pro recently. Turned out to be a bad cable. He tried to re-solder the GPS end, but it didn't help. I think he ended up ordering a new cable...

Do you have any other devices that you could try to use on that serial port?

mountainborn
01-06-2006, 08:14 AM
..

Gaddiel
01-06-2006, 09:01 AM
As far as I can tell, the newest MS update should not affect this function in any way. Have you tried any other serial devices on that same port?

mountainborn
01-06-2006, 05:33 PM
..

Gaddiel
01-06-2006, 09:41 PM
Only other thing I can think of is to try changing your baud rate and or NEMA settings on your GPSr. Not sure about Garmin units but I've been told that with the Magellan units, NEMA must be off to transfer waypoints.

I'm running out of ideas for you...

Wayne

mountainborn
01-19-2006, 09:35 AM
..

BACKPACKNJACK
01-19-2006, 01:40 PM
Hadnít seen an update on this lately so I thought maybe you had figured it out.
I didnít suspect you were just waiting for more hair to grow back so you could get back to work on it. 8O
I learned a few things while I was sick with the flu. Electronics and fever are like alcohol and cars and donít mix well. I donít know why I thought an increase in my brain temperature was just as good as an increase in my IQ..... but I did, and I deleted my maps, changed all my settings etc. so what Iím saying is I donít have an answer for your problem but I DO have empathy for the hair pulling part. I quickly learned to just let GSAK
clear the old waypoints before loading the new. Long tech support story from way back but I use com3 on all my PCs. Good luck to both of us.
PS. Will anything else write to your Mag. GPSr, like maps etc. so you can eliminate the GPS and/or SDcard?
PPS. I believe the baud rate for your mag gold should be 9600 but permission denied should have nothing to do with that.

mountainborn
01-19-2006, 02:06 PM
..

Gaddiel
01-19-2006, 04:30 PM
DOH! I knew that. I even HAD that problem myself!

Oh well, I guess during some of my own hair-pulling-out sessions, I must have pulled some brain out with them... :D