PDA

View Full Version : TEST POSTING AREA



GEO
06-10-2004, 02:24 PM
test 1
<A href="http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3"><img
src=img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3"border=0></A></center>



<center>http://ArkGeocaching.org/images/ArkGeoButtonGray2.gif (http://ArkGeocaching.org)</center>





How do you get the stats from Geocaching to appear on your post?

GEO
06-10-2004, 08:31 PM
Is it here this time
img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3

Guess not.
I have tried everything.

LongDogs
06-11-2004, 12:49 AM
Remove the spaces in the [ img ] and [ / img ] parts of the following:
[ img ]http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3[ / img ]

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3

LongDogs
06-11-2004, 12:51 AM
This is the code from the previous post:

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3

I checked the Disable BBCode in this post to get the code to show. Be sure you DO NOT check it if you want the stats to show.

arkansas_stickerdude
06-11-2004, 10:48 AM
Maybe here

LongDogs
06-11-2004, 10:58 AM
Ok, here is another thing to watch out for.

If your sig is too long, the extra gets chopped off.

Since that would include the ending [/img] then it won't show up as an image.

idratherbehiking
06-11-2004, 05:30 PM
Just thought I would give this a shot to see if I can figure it out.

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=22073a80-3eed-46ba-8edc-65e8f449cfc0

Geoark1
06-12-2004, 10:06 PM
Test

arkansas_stickerdude
06-12-2004, 10:46 PM
I got mine to work also YES!!!! I'm smarter that i thunk i was!!!!! hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!

Geoark1
06-14-2004, 04:03 PM
test again

cachecrazies
06-16-2004, 06:57 PM
Ok - first try to check it out!

cachecrazies
06-16-2004, 07:42 PM
I'd have 3, 437 posts if this counted every time I tried to change this thing! GRRRRRR :evil:

idratherbehiking
06-16-2004, 08:09 PM
I can't seem to get it to work in my signature either.

Geoark1
06-16-2004, 08:39 PM
I got mine working then it just stopped working so I tried this and for now it works it will do until something better comes along anyway if anyone finds the answer I hope you will share.

GEO
06-16-2004, 08:51 PM
The Stats button generator page gives me a message that Dynamic Images are not allowed by this web site.
I tried everything given and it will not work.

I am computer illeterate though and need to learn how to use HTML correctly.


http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3

cachecrazies
06-16-2004, 09:36 PM
I used to do html pretty good - but the new stuff has me baffled! Know this will go better after a nights sleep! But then it's off to Springfield for the OMG meeting - hmmm, maybe next week I'll try it again!

LongDogs
06-16-2004, 10:26 PM
Not positive, but I think maybe it is the apostrophe ' in Let's causing the problem.

Gaddiel
06-16-2004, 11:10 PM
Ah, what the heck, I'll test mine, too...

Gaddiel
06-16-2004, 11:20 PM
Yeesh! 8O I guess we're gonna have to get a shorter username... :)

Gaddiel
06-16-2004, 11:24 PM
I used to do html pretty good - but the new stuff has me baffled! Know this will go better after a nights sleep! But then it's off to Springfield for the OMG meeting - hmmm, maybe next week I'll try it again!

Hey, you crazy cachers! How are things in the NW?

My $.02: You might be missing the URL tags at the beginning and end of your code. Southdeltan has a post in the Website Issues section that tells you exactly what the code should look like. I think the thread is called "Image Tags"...

arkansas_stickerdude
06-17-2004, 12:52 AM
I used to do html pretty good - but the new stuff has me baffled! Know this will go better after a nights sleep! But then it's off to Springfield for the OMG meeting - hmmm, maybe next week I'll try it again!

Hey, you crazy cachers! How are things in the NW?

My $.02: You might be missing the URL tags at the beginning and end of your code. Southdeltan has a post in the Website Issues section that tells you exactly what the code should look like. I think the thread is called "Image Tags"...

Gaddiel if you study the HTML you can lengthen the box to take your hole name.

cachecrazies
06-17-2004, 06:13 AM
Thanks for the help! I'll work on it again later. Should be a fun weekend up in Springfield - we're looking forward to the Geocaching 101 meeting.

cachecrazies
07-06-2004, 06:01 AM
AARRRGH!

arkansas_stickerdude
07-07-2004, 08:43 AM
AARRRGH!

Cachecrazies try taking out everythining before the IMG

rock_hound
07-07-2004, 01:53 PM
test

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:07 PM
Test

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:10 PM
I am feeling a little inept.

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:12 PM
The last attempt before I get back to work.

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:15 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=][img]http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=eb6dfea0-adb5-4321-a127-ec0357255d99&bg=1

Geezer_Veazey
07-07-2004, 03:15 PM
Test

My stats (http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=a1ecb0f5-a6d9-4273-90d1-49c6fb800365&txt=Go%20Geezers&bg=1)

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:19 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=][img]http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid= ea69038d-34ac-417b-a7d4-d824c0683fb4
&bg=1

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:21 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid= ea69038d-34ac-417b-a7d4-d824c0683fb4
&bg=1

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:22 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=ea69038d-34ac-417b-a7d4-d824c0683fb4
&bg=1

chili36
07-07-2004, 03:23 PM
Not only is this frustrating, it is addictive. LOL.

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=ea69038d-34ac-417b-a7d4-d824c0683fb4

Geezer_Veazey
07-07-2004, 03:32 PM
Test Two

Geezer_Veazey
07-07-2004, 03:34 PM
Test Three

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=a1ecb0f5-a6d9-4273-90d1-49c6fb800365&bg=1

Geezer_Veazey
07-07-2004, 03:41 PM
Test Four

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=a1ecb0f5-a6d9-4273-90d1-49c6fb800365&txt=Go%20Geezers&bg=1

arkansas_stickerdude
07-07-2004, 10:41 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=ea69038d-34ac-417b-a7d4-d824c0683fb4

chili36
07-08-2004, 12:00 PM
I managed to insert it as an image, but still can't get it to work as a signature.

rock_hound
07-08-2004, 12:13 PM
test

GEO
07-09-2004, 03:49 PM
test2 today

GEO
07-09-2004, 03:51 PM
test 3 with disable bbcode

arkansas_stickerdude
07-09-2004, 09:40 PM
Geo I'll email you the correct code.

GEO
07-09-2004, 10:40 PM
Thanks Dude.I can usually figure these things out,but this has me buffaloed.
It is something simple I am or am not doing.

GEO
07-09-2004, 10:51 PM
OK ))^)&^6

GEO
07-10-2004, 08:37 PM
ok lw here it is.

arkansas_stickerdude
07-11-2004, 07:01 PM
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3


Lets see if this works

arkansas_stickerdude
07-11-2004, 07:02 PM
GEO I'm emailing it to you.

GEO
07-11-2004, 07:15 PM
Just like you sent it ark stickerdude
??????
http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3

It will work here.
but not there.
I see something this post I will change and come back.

I changed it no diffrence.

idratherbehiking
07-13-2004, 08:46 PM
Have you tried making a change to your avatar yet. That is the only way I could get my stats "thingy" to work. I don't know why it works but all I know is that it did. There have been several others that it has worked for also. Give it a try.

GEO
07-13-2004, 10:12 PM
Tried that too.
And am now trying the one arkstkrdude sent today.

I think it is the * in GEO*.
I know most places won't allow it as a character.
Geocaching is the only one so far,that is why I change it in other forums.

idratherbehiking
07-13-2004, 10:23 PM
GEO Try copying and pasting this into your signature.

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3&txt=Geo*Trailblazer&bg=2


Let's see if that works.

GEO
07-13-2004, 10:57 PM
Ok I did that and changed the Avatar.
I have gon bugggggggggyyyyyyyyyyyyyon this one.

Then I signed out and backin,changed back to old avatar and edited this post.

idratherbehiking
07-13-2004, 11:41 PM
OK, I have tried this several times and it works every time no matter whose stats I am using.

Follow these steps:

1. Paste this in your signature:

http://www.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?uid=cfdc3327-0adb-446f-9d20-03bc0ac8e4d3&txt=Geo*Trailblazer&bg=2

and click"save changes"

2. Click "Your Info" and scroll down to "Avatar Control Panel" and click "Upload Through Forum Profile".

3. Scroll down to "Avatar Control Panel" and select the "delete image box" and click "submit"

This should work. Now you can go back and add your avatar again.
I don't know where the extra numbers come from in the image brackets but they are different everytime I try it, but it works every time I follow these steps.
Good Luck,

GEO
07-14-2004, 12:36 AM
Well it looks like I can follow instructions.................Thanks everyone.
I was not deleting the image before I uploaded a new one,I think that is the key.

Only geocachers could-would do it.

Again thanks for your SUPPORT.

Phantom_491
07-19-2004, 03:35 PM
I going to try and test this out.

chili36
07-20-2004, 08:44 AM
Ok, I changed the user ID in the instructions above and followed the sequence, big question is whether it worked.

chili36
07-20-2004, 08:50 AM
I am glad I am better and finding caches than I am at coding.

chili36
07-20-2004, 08:53 AM
Finally, now to change the theme on the signature.

chili36
07-20-2004, 08:55 AM
If you can talk me through it, you can talk anyone through it.


When I was in undergraduate school, we were still programming in basic with punch cards, LOL.

arkansas_stickerdude
07-20-2004, 09:37 AM
When I was in College they were talking about the Pascal language. I don't think they use it any more.

idratherbehiking
07-20-2004, 02:49 PM
I was using turbo pascal in high school for graphics design and for a piece of a 911 system we were helping design. But that was as far as I got with it.

Gaddiel
07-20-2004, 05:56 PM
When I was in undergraduate school, we were still programming in basic with punch cards, LOL.

Me, too! I remember having to carry that stack of hundreds of punched cards over to the old computer room (if you dropped them, you were sunk :x ) and letting the operator run them through the reader to get a printout of my code. Boy, those were the days. Thanks for the memory...

Phantom_491
07-20-2004, 06:04 PM
When I went through Tech training for the AF they had just phased out the punch cards. The Punches were still in the classrooms. I did have to learn how to read Ascii tape. If you messed up in 1 spot you had to run a whole new tape.

chili36
07-21-2004, 08:36 AM
I quickly learned that if you took a #2 pencil and "numbered" the punch cards, you could recover from a "dropped batch". Unfortunately, I had a bad experience BEFORE learning that trick.

Squirrel21309
07-25-2004, 08:51 PM
Test

BooCrew
08-20-2004, 07:57 AM
Wonder how much help I'm gonna need on this one! 8O



Apparently ALOT being I'm not GeoTrailblazer. :roll: I'll work on this tonight. Gotta take the cat in to get fixed.