PDA

View Full Version : Work-around GC.com Mapping Conundrum



SJClimber
02-19-2012, 09:11 PM
Well, have you all seen the maps on GC.com?? They are pitiful especially the MapQuest Aerial product. Apparently GC.com users hit Google Maps >2M times daily, so Google started charging for the use and GC.com had to find other products. Likely the slow loading is a server problem (so they say), but if you are running FireFox and have Greasemonkey, there is a script that brings you the old maps for your use.

Open Firefox - select the Tools drop down box, click on Add-ons

If you already have Greasemonkey installed, in add-ons manager on the left side of the page there should be a little monkey that says User Scripts next to it. Click on that. In the big box to the right in the upper left hand corner there should be a link that says Get user scripts.

When that page comes up, there is a search box on the right hand side that says Script Search. In that box type in "Geocaching.com extra map layers" omitting the quotes. There is an explanation of the script and the install button.

Hope this is of use..

idratherbehiking
02-19-2012, 09:19 PM
I was going to make a post on this myself but you beat me to it.

butch724
02-20-2012, 05:09 AM
The new maps are sooooo slowwwww and MapQuest Aerial is a joke. We need to go back to the old one some how.

SJClimber
02-20-2012, 11:42 AM
Going back "ain't" happening unless GC.com becomes a purely fee for service site eliminating the non-paying "members" and, then, likely the premium members will see a fee increase just to keep Google Map services. So the discussion goes on Groundspeak Forums. As stated, GC.com cannot afford the fees to Google for present usage by the "members."
Though the work-around above gets the maps, no one on Groundspeak Forum has said how it effects GC.com and it's relationship with Google, Bing, TOPO, etc.. Groundspeak initially cut the link to the script, then replaced it after some discussion. We'll see...

Flyfishingcachers
02-20-2012, 10:06 PM
Not very computer savvy. What should happen after I hit the install button? All it is doing is opening another tab with all the script. What happens next?

thefab5willisclan
02-20-2012, 10:38 PM
Dang google, Don't they have enough money already!?!

dcwalker30
02-25-2012, 08:32 PM
For you Chrome users ...

http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/126244

Buckshot/MamaLlama
02-26-2012, 12:51 PM
Thanks dcwalker!!!! After getting confused and maneuvering around the advertisements, I now have google maps back!

The_Griswolds
02-27-2012, 06:18 PM
You're my hero. Thanks for posting this.

geofinder24
02-28-2012, 04:51 PM
Thank You!

captaincooder
03-02-2012, 08:06 AM
Thanks, dcwalker! Here's an add-on for Firefox users. Haven't seen one for Internet Explorer.

http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=290741

SJClimber
03-02-2012, 06:31 PM
Yo, CC, same script for Firefox as in the initial post of the thread.

captaincooder
03-02-2012, 08:16 PM
Indeed it is! Oops! (Where's the blushing emoticon?)

pshelto
03-06-2012, 10:11 PM
So this might be off topic, but can someone tell this computer savvy idiot how to select the different caches when they are on top of one another? I could do it easily in googlemaps, but haven't seemed to get it on here.

captaincooder
03-07-2012, 08:18 AM
Zoom in as close as you can and sometimes they come apart just barely enough. Also if you hover over a cluster and attempt to select, a sublist will appear to the side differentiating the caches from which you can select. On the old maps, a text list of all the caches on the map would appear to the side from which you could select. I see that is gone now.

butch724
03-28-2012, 06:20 PM
The map system seems to be going down hill. Having more trouble trying to update a cache. There has to be something better or get the old system back.

idratherbehiking
04-21-2012, 08:37 AM
Here is a great example of the crappy maps they are using now.

126

Even the map is begging to be fixed.

Cpdenton
04-21-2012, 11:24 AM
hehe. That's funny right there.

geofinder24
04-21-2012, 03:08 PM
wow, that's hilarious! i'm glad there is a way to get the google maps back on there!

Jffok
04-22-2012, 02:40 PM
I personally think the maps on geocaching.com have hit bottom so the only way to go now is UP.

thefab5willisclan
04-22-2012, 10:33 PM
Ha Ha! Thats sad.

the-snowlight
04-23-2012, 09:53 PM
Life is good again Thanks DCWalker!

dcwalker30
06-08-2012, 12:45 PM
Google maps is back for Premium Members!

SJClimber
06-08-2012, 01:06 PM
Yes, Google maps are back, but there is a preference set for those that enjoyed the contributed maps made available through the "workaround" at the beginning of this thread. The preference tab can be found at the bottom of the left pane in the split screen view when in "geocaching maps." You can choose Google or Leaflet maps.