PDA

View Full Version : Stat bar in signature



TheAlabamaRambler
06-18-2007, 10:28 PM
Anyone know why my sig won't work? It works on other forums but displays here as text.

It should look like this:

http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=9a63e984-6be2-403e-b4a9-7761c408516b&txt=++++++++++++Just+Do+It!&img=alga&img2=dixie

but shows up in my sig as text. Am I using the IMG tags wrong for this site?

Gaddiel
06-19-2007, 08:55 AM
You should be able to take the code you used in your message and just put the img tags around it. However, I know that there have been some others who had trouble, too.

There is some information about this issue in our FAQ (http://www.arkgeocaching.org/modules.php?name=FAQ). A few people have changed their avatar to something else and then changed it back, and their sig code started working. It might be worth a try...

Wayne

bluesybreeze
10-30-2008, 08:17 PM
I'm having the stat bar trouble that some others have had. I have read all the postings that I could find, but I couldn't find anything that worked. I have used both the BBCode and the HTML tags. I have checked everything on my profile page. The code will show up as my sig line, but not the stat bar. I have also viewed some of the other stat bars code that are working and they look similar to mine. My bar is working fine on My Profile on Geocaching.com. Any ideas?

dallaswynn
09-10-2009, 02:40 PM
<img>http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=cb0a2a02-f166-4522-88cf-6e761b97fc3f&txt=Hiking+in+the+Ozarks&img=aga&img2=gc</img>

jclaudii
09-11-2009, 08:48 AM
http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=ed2cc4fd-3d90-4fd7-a69b-421fff91818c&txt=See+you+out+there!&img=aga&img2=gpxspinner

http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=cb0a2a02-f166-4522-88cf-6e761b97fc3f&txt=Hiking+in+the+Ozarks&img=aga&img2=gc

http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=9a63e984-6be2-403e-b4a9-7761c408516b&txt=++++++++++++Just+Do+It!&img=alga&img2=dixie

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i201/jclaudii/geocaching/citologo2jc1.gif


Okay...I tried this and it didn't work and then it did. So you all can try this as well and see if you get the same results.

1. I copied the direct url like you all have above.
2. I then tried preview and got nothing but the code
3. I went and added a graphic from a site I know works like my photobucket image hosting site
4. I hit preview and boom it worked. I also think it caches some as well or remembered something as I seem to be able to do it whenever I try now. So give that a try and let me know if it works. You can also just right click on an internet image like of an ammo can and click "copy location" and then past that in between the img.../img tags so you can get a picture if you don't have photobucket or another hosting service.

Good Luck and Welcome to geocaching Dallas. Where you from?

jclaudii
09-11-2009, 09:03 AM
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i201/jclaudii/geocaching/citologo2jc1.gif

http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=5a4fac51-2d34-47cb-9891-b276b817dd77&txt=View+Our+profile&img=aga

Heck I even tried it and it worked so far.

jclaudii
09-11-2009, 09:06 AM
posting one more time to make sure it works when you paste it into the signature bar.

jclaudii
09-11-2009, 09:08 AM
one more time...forgot to turn it on in profile settings

bluesybreeze
09-11-2009, 09:16 AM
Obviously, mine is working now. What is weird is that it places it correctly in all of my past posts where it wasn't working before :!: :?:

dallaswynn
09-16-2009, 05:04 PM
Jclaudii, I am from Huntsville, AR. It has been raining all week and hasn't given me much of a chance to geocache and it is supposed to rain this weekend also so no hiking. I am going to try to post it again....

http://www.devfolio.com/geocaching/statbar/logo.aspx?uid=cb0a2a02-f166-4522-88cf-6e761b97fc3f&txt=Hiking+in+the+Ozarks&img=aga&img2=gc

dallaswynn
09-16-2009, 05:06 PM
No luck. Thanks for the help, but maybe someone knows a mod that can just do it for me?

Gaddiel
09-17-2009, 07:21 AM
I tried, dallaswynn, but I didn't have any luck, either...

Wayne

jclaudii
09-17-2009, 07:45 AM
I see it on your post above Dallas, but i'm guessing it's not in your signature.

If it still don't work, try putting something big from photobucket in there like my cito logo or ammo can picture. Also, don't forget the "Always attach my signature:" box needs to be set to YES

Since this thread is still in a "test" section, go ahead and try again. If it don't work put some img code of a photobucket image or another net image and see if that pops up.

I don't think it is something the mods can actually help with, it's more of a caching issue with the way the software and/or hosting service is displaying the images. That is also why it will "backfill" all of a person's previous post where it previously was not working.

On a side note, I just checked "Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)" and hit preview and it showed my stat bar again.

Curious, you using firefox or IE?

dallaswynn
09-27-2009, 10:20 PM
I see it now in all of my posts but the one above. That is a little weird, but maybe it is working now.

dallaswynn
09-27-2009, 10:22 PM
Thanks everyone for your help, I don't know what happened but it is working now. I am using firefox. I am going to see if I can put my Avatar back and post one more time.

dallaswynn
09-27-2009, 10:30 PM
Let's see if it works. Thanks everyone.

bluesybreeze
09-28-2009, 06:27 AM
Woo-hoo! Got it working! Now get off of here and go caching :D I'm glad it finally got going for you. I know it drove me crazy when I was messing with mine. Good luck

Geezer_Veazey
11-23-2009, 11:41 AM
This is a test.

Click URL here (http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/29106045.jpg) for my seal of gratitude.

jasonddickerson
10-16-2011, 11:34 PM
OK. so is this signature thing working or not?

jasonddickerson
10-17-2011, 12:05 AM
Can someone help me get this working. I have never had so much trouble with just a signature... There has to be an undocumented trick. I have tried many different suggested formats such as IMG tags in URL tags, turning avatar on and off, etc... I have [IMG***]http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid=e54abec0-3b45-470f-b100-a13d18ca7dfe[/IMG***] for now...

Any help would be appreciated.

Jason

kcackler
10-17-2011, 07:13 AM
User permissions have been updated to allow non-voting members to have images in their signatures. You standard BB-code to do so.

jasonddickerson
10-17-2011, 09:23 AM
Thanks kcackler! If I remember correctly, you enabled Allow HTML and Allow IMG BB Code. Once you enabled, allow HTML, it allowed me to past the HTML code directly from the geocaching.com site. However, I have traslated it to the form [URL*=XXX][IMG*]YYY[/IMG*][/URL*] as you seem to prefer it. If this is not correct, please let me know. I didn't mean for you to change the default of the site or anything. Ironically, I registered as a voting member right before I saw this. I could see changing it back, and then updating the signature FAQ to say only for registered voting members.

Thanks again,

Jason

kcackler
10-17-2011, 08:22 PM
We prefer the use of BB-Code, as rogue HTML can (and has) screwed up the forum layout in the past.

No worries on enabling signatures for all registered users. It should have been set like that in the first place.

drmo913
10-18-2011, 03:50 AM
wow! that last exchange lost me!
-impressive!

thefab5willisclan
10-18-2011, 11:42 PM
Yeah. WAY over my head for sure.

jasonddickerson
10-19-2011, 12:03 AM
Cool kcackler. That being the case you should be able to disable the "Allow HTML" feature in signatures. This is already disabled for forum posts, but could still be slipped in a signature and cause the problem you describe.

drmo913 and thefab5willisclan, not that complicated if you can read code. The a-ref in html equates to the [URL*=][/URL*]" BBcode (minus the asterisks), and the img src in HTML equates to the BB-code. In this way, you can translate the HTML code that you get from geocaching.com into workable BB-code. HTML can do most anything it wants, ie screw up the web page layout, or do something otherwise malicious. BB-code is far more restrictive, and thus safer. This is quite common on bulletin boards. I even saw that the BB-code HTML and BB-code IMG were disabled for my signature, but just didn't put 2 and 2 together. It was really late that night.

drmo913, if you want your stats bar in your signature, just let me know. I can teach you quite easily.

Thanks,

Jason

drmo913
10-19-2011, 02:10 AM
I think I figured out how to do it, but I'm pretty sure I've done it in the non-preferred format. Verification? Changes that need to be made?

kcackler
10-19-2011, 06:56 AM
It looks good Morgan.

Jason - HTML in signatures is turned on specifically so people don't have to translate from the GC supplied HTML into BB-code. We are a small member base, so when issues do arise, it's a non-issue to correct them.

drmo913
10-21-2011, 06:01 AM
Thanks Cackler